III. BROOKHAVEN SYMPOSIUM IN BIOLOGY NO. 8 - MUTATION

The annual summer conference sponsored by the Biology Department of the Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, N. Y. will take place June 15 through 17, 1955. Those planning to attend should notify Dr. R. C. King at the above address by May 21, 1955. If you are not a citizen of the United States, please indicate your nationality.

The program includes the following speakers and topics: S. Benzer, Genetic fine structure and its relation to the DNA molecule; A. D. Hershey, The chemical organization of virus genetic material; J. G. Gall, The structure of chromosomes; A. W. Ravin, The properties of bacterial transforming systems; G. Bertani, The role of phage in bacterial heredity; Barbara McClintock, Intranuclear systems controlling gene action and mutation; M. Demerec and Zlata Demerec, Factors determining the effectiveness of certain mutagens; H. B. Newcombe, The timing of the induced mutation process in Streptomyces spores; N. H. Giles, Jr., Forward and back mutation at specific loci in Neurospora; H. J. Muller, The relation between chromosome changes and gene mutation; J. S. Kirby-Smith, Effect on the genetic material due to radiations of different linear energy transfer; H. B. Glass, Properties of genetic material manifested by changed mutability during different stages of gametogenesis; W. L. Russell, The mutational characteristics of specific loci; W. S. Stone, Indirect effects of radiation on genetic material; W. K. Baker, The oxygen effect and the mutation process; and A. Novick, Mutagens and antimutagens. R. D. Hotchkiss, K. Sax, W. R. Singleton, A. H. Sparrow, A. Srb, and K. G. Stern are chairmen. The Symposium Committee consists of R. C. King, V. W. Woodward, A. H. Sparrow, Marian E. Koshland and H. J. Curtis.